Election Results 2014

March 2014 Election Results

A BIG thank to all the students who voted in the 2014 SAMRU elections. We had a record-breaking 23 per cent voter turnout this year, with 2,503 students voting.

Congratulations to all the winners, and thank you to all candidates for your time and effort in planning and executing your campaigns, and for running!

Final Vote Count 2014

2014 Election Results

Congratulations to all of the candidates who ran!

SAMRU 2014 Election Statistics

Total # of eligible voters 10,793
Total number of people who voted 2,503
Percentage who voted 23%


Executive Positions


Erik Queenan (Elected)
Votes: 924

Rhett McLeod
Votes: 728

Norman Potter
Votes: 516

Harbaksh Singh Sekhon
Votes: 231

Rejected Ballots: 50*

Vice-President Student University Affairs

Zoe Slusar (Elected)
Votes: 891

Charlene Green
Votes: 710

Mitchell Parent
Votes: 616

Rejected Ballots: 118*

Vice-President Student External Affairs

Seija Roggeveen (Elected)
Votes: 963

Jesse Beaudin
Votes: 657

Will Conner
Votes: 591

Rejected Ballots: 126*

Vice-President Student Academic Affairs

Tristan Smyth (Elected)
Votes: 1,924

No: 238

Rejected Ballots: 179*

*Note: Individual ballots are counted as rejected because they were marked in such a manner that it is impossible to tell what the vote was meant to be. Most rejected ballots were rejected because there was no vote cast for certain candidates. In other words, the boxes next to the candidates’ names were left blank.

Back to top

2014 Voter Turnout

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Total
East Gate 183 212 262 657
West Gate 237 272 274 783
Online 1063
GRAND TOTAL OF VOTERS 420 484 536 2503

If you have any questions, please contact the Chief Returning Officer, Shauna Hunter.